Slice of Life Day 8

03.08.15

My youngest is turning one at the end of the month and I know it won’t be long until the princess stage could possibly start.  I tried desperately to avoid it with my oldest. I am not against Disney and there are many merits to each of the princesses but for some reason I had it in my head that if we started with princesses, obsession would follow.  Maybe it was because I was not and still am not the girly, princess type. But from age three to six, my daughter certainly was and I gracefully embraced it.

Innocently enough, it was the summer Sasha was turning three when I saw the flier about a local production of Disney’s Beauty and the Beast.  The true beauty of taking an almost three year old to a musical for the first time is that one never quite knows just what to expect.

The production began and Sasha was completely, entirely enthralled, despite the fact she was missing her afternoon nap.  The music numbers were fantastic, but I found myself more focused on watching Sasha.  I wanted to sear her expressions of delight and awe into my brain.

Being that I knew the musical numbers so well, I was able to glance at her tiny face at just the right moments.  I gazed at the wonder in her eyes when the townspeople were singing, “Bonjour! Bonjour!  Bonjour, bonjour, bonjour!” I adored the smile spreading over her cheeks when plates and forks twirled around during “Be Our Guest!”

Frankly, when the wolves appeared on stage, during a chase scene in the forest, I was nervous she would freak. The whole auditorium was nearly pitch black.  The mood was dark and I could see the wolves’ yellow eyes glowing as they ran from the wings.  The music was deep and serious and the wolves began to run after Belle’s father through the woods.

Out of my almost three year olds’ lips came a sound that began as a shriek that quickly melted into hysterical laughter.  And it was loud.  I mean really loud. Loud enough, that the audience members around us, myself included, began to laugh too.  This kid of mine was screaming with sheer delight over these terrifying wolves.

As we left the auditorium, Sasha looked up at me with those big blue eyes, stating “Those wolves were so funny Mommy!”  “They were so funny Sasha, just like you!” I answered back.

Well, the Disney obsession hit full force in our house after that day…

princess toothbrushes AND toothpaste

pink, purple, and “Cinderella blue” pads of paper, and books, oh and the stickers, we can’t forget the stickers…plastered on hands, cheeks, shirts, my shirts, my couch…

plastic resealable snack bags and plastic dolls with removable plastic clothes

3T, 4T, 5T t-shirts (will it ever end?), socks, shorts, SNEAKERS, hair bows: Each and every one with a princess

And yes…Princess underwear too.

So, as the baby moves to toddlerhood over the next few months I should probably prepare myself. Thank goodness for other obsessions that will come along as they did for my Sasha: obsessions over construction vehicles, My Little Ponies, Duplo blocks, playing veterinarian…

We will survive princesses and anything else that hits our house.  I suppose, one of the greatest joys of parenthood is being as obsessed about THE obsession, as much as your own kid is!

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Slice of Life Day 8

  1. I remember the feeling of dreading the Barbie doll craze and then dreading the football stage and then …..the good news is that if WE don’t make them part of our kids identity, they are just stages….and moments in time when they experiment and learn and grow – often outside of our own comfort zone!

    Like

  2. When my first daughter was born, I felt exactly like you…no princess stuff, please! One of the best moments of our first Disney trip was her, then five, getting to meet all of her favorite princesses. Never have I seen such excitement. We are planning our next trip, and seeing my youngest daughter have the same experience is what I look forward to the most. What is important to them, becomes important to us.

    Like

  3. My daughter is 4 & learned about the princesses’ existence at preschool. That said, I have not played any of the movies in our house. Perhaps if you keep the movies at bay your one-year-old will continue to do the things that she loves. I’m not an expert, it’s just what’s work for us so far.

    Like

  4. Great slice–the part that strikes me is the moment of the joy in the shrieks–I love that. Love reading about a child getting so enthralled and wrapped up in live theater and even becoming a part of the event for the audience. Wonderful!

    Like

  5. I love the concept of “surviving the princess stage!” Makes me giggle actually. So, I guess I leave you with a hearty “good luck!” Thanks for this slice. It was fun to read 🙂

    Like

  6. Let the fun continue. I have 2 daughters and they went through the princess stage. My 22year old daughter recently dressed up as Cinderella for a charity event for kids. It’s likely they will continue the tradition with their own children.

    Like

  7. Ok- that she laughed at the wolves is killing me. That is too funny- I can hear her laugh so clearly. 🙂 We gave into the princesses too and it has been lovely- the princesses play with the Ninja Turtles. It’s all good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

