Slice of Life Day 29

Gabby

Dear Gabby,

On the eve of your first birthday, I want to tell you that you are so loved.

I could just gaze at you all day long…with your dark brown hair and dark blue eyes, you are just the sweetest little thing. That adorable nose and your dimple, your smile with four teeth. Even when you are crankin’ and you squint up your eyes and you push that lower lip out just like your Daddy’s pout, you are still the cutest.

It’s hard to believe that this year has come and gone, I just can’t get over…

The way your smile lights up a room.

The way you walk with your little hiney butt swaying from side to side.

The way you laugh and love up your big brother and sister.

The way you reach your arms out for your Daddy when he comes home from work.

The way you point to the photos on the wall as if to say, “Show me.”

The way you are a Momma’s girl and sometimes only happy in my arms, who am I kidding…that’s most of the time!

The way you look up at me when you try to open up a cabinet as my leg is purposefully and strategically blocking it as if to say, “But there’s fun stuff inside Mommy!”

The way you flap the pages of The Very Hungry Caterpillar, like I showed you, because I always say, “flap, flap, flap” for the butterfly at the end and though you can’t say “flap, flap, flap” you flap the pages with your own baby babble noises.

The way you carry a sock, piece of plastic brown Lego fence, and a Candy Land card in one hand for 30 minutes.

The way you pull your bath towel over your face and pull it back down real quick, giggling, so I will play peek-a-boo with you.

The way you are like the cement that holds our family of five together. I almost wrote glue, but cement is stronger and permanent and once you cement something you can’t undo it, just like our love.

Happy birthday Gabby! My sweetie baby girl, Daddy’s princess, Sissy’s favorite sister, and Chase’s favorite younger sister. We all love you so much.

 

5 thoughts on “Slice of Life Day 29

  1. She is darling! What a doll! The difference in a year is incredible growth. I hope every year you write a letter like this, it will be such a treasure for her.

    Like

  2. What a wonderful way to celebrate her first birthday. Now you both will have a snapshot of how she is at this moment. Happy Birthday, Gabby!

    Like

Leave a Reply

