Almost

She is almost 11

and as she opened the garage door to go play tonight,

she closed it quick and walked

into the bathroom.

I knew why.

There was a boy outside.

I peeked in to find her

checking her hair.

I grinned and she laughed saying, “What?!?!”

“Your hair looks nice!” I replied.

“Thanks!” she said

then trotted out the door.

She is almost 11

and she put on her bike helmet

without caring about the uncoolness of it all

with her two just-showered braids

dangling below her shoulders.

She is almost 11

and she rode her bike

past the boy playing basketball

and just as she reached his vicinity

she stood up on the pedals,

riding with a little more speed and a little more confidence.

She is almost 11

and I am not ready

for her to be 11

for the need to impress

for the grown up independence

for any of it.

Think I will hold onto 10 for a little while longer

9 thoughts on “Almost

  1. So glad you held time in the hands of your words for just a moment. You will return to them, and your 10-year-old girl will remain forever ten in that space you created. I particularly like this moment where you show a universal experience of growing up:

    “and she rode her bike

    past the boy playing basketball

    and just as she reached his vicinity

    she stood up on the pedals,

    riding with a little more speed and a little more confidence.”

    Like

  2. I love this – your tittle caught my attention – your slice made me cry. My daughter is ‘almost 9’- so I loved how you did wrote the ‘almost 11.’ I could absolutely hear the ‘WHAT??” It’s a beautiful tribute.

    Like

  3. Love your poem about your daughter. My youngest is 11. Attitude is kicking in. Then there are moments when she wants to snuggle.

    Like

  4. I don’t have children (yet!), but I remember these moments from the other side. I remember being scared, trying on false confidence, and sometimes just wishing to be 6. Someday, when your daughter is “almost 30” like me she will truly appreciate this poem. Save it for her!

    Like

Leave a Reply

