I Stabbed Myself with a Fork Today

It was an accident.

A fumble.

At brunch.

In a fancy hotel.

The fork in question

began to fall.

I reached to grab the handle

as it spun in the air.

The prongs bit into my palm.

I held up my left hand

staring in disbelief,

staring at the double-line scratches when

blood slipped out between the two.

I laid down the offending utensil,

finally feeling the sting.

Then I remembered.

So I picked up that fork

and ignored the pain.

After all,

I had a made-to-order

mushroom and cheddar omelette to eat

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “I Stabbed Myself with a Fork Today

  1. Hahahaha! It is all relative, isn’t it? Man I could feel that fork heading your way! I’ve seen dropped forks heading for my summertime exposed toes, not pretty.

    Like

  2. Oops! And ouch! This was a great way to describe a perfect small moment and make us feel right there with you. Isn’t that the truth–time seems to slow down when such things happen! This was a story well told–and I also hope you were able to enjoy the rest of your omelette!

    Like

Leave a comment